EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

Student Nutrition Services


PCSSD's Board Policy 5.29: Wellness Policy calls for the creation of a School Nutrition and Physical Activity Advisory Committee (SNPAAC) or Wellness Committee.


To enhance the district’s efforts to improve the health of our students, the SNPAAC shall be formed. It shall be structured in a way to ensure age-appropriate recommendations are made that correlate to the District’s grade configurations. The SNPAAC shall have the powers and responsibilities delegated to it by statute and Rule and are incorporated into this policy by reference. The overarching goal of the committee shall be to promote student wellness by monitoring how well the District is doing at implementing this policy. The SNPAAC shall use modules 1, 2, 3, 4, 10, and 11 of the Centers for Disease Control’ (CDC) School Health Index as a basis for annually assessing each school’s progress toward meeting the requirements of this policy. The results of the annual assessment shall be included in the school district’s support plan (SDSP), provided to each school’s principal, and reported to the board. Goals and objectives for nutrition and physical activity shall also be included in the SDSP.

The SNPAAC shall be made up of Individuals from the following groups to the extent interested persons from each group desire to be included in the development, implementation, and periodic review of the District's wellness policy:

  • Members of the District’s Board of Directors;
  • School administrators;
  • School nutrition personnel;
  • Teacher organizations;
  • Teachers of physical education;
  • Parents;
  • Students;
  • Professional groups (such as nurses);
  • School health professionals (such as school nurses, school counselors, and social workers); and
  • Community members.

The SNPAAC shall provide written recommendations to the District’s Child Nutrition Director concerning menus and other foods sold in the school cafeteria. Such recommendations shall be based, at least in part, on the information the Committee receives from the District on the requirements and standards of the National School Lunch Program and from menus for the National School Lunch Program and other food sold in the school cafeteria on a quarterly basis.

The SNPAAC will meet at least quarterly. Meeting dates for the SNPAAC will be placed on the District’s calendar.

To learn more about the committee or how you can become involved, please contact Tonya Raborn at trayborn@pcssd.org.

Wellness Committee Meeting Minutes

Wellness Committee Members:
  • Danny Ebbs
  • Tonya Raborn
  • Regena English
  • Cynthia Hines
  • Jessica Duff
  • Alesia Smith
  • Jan Pipkin
  • Gregg Morrison
  • Dominic Meza
  • Laura Sergeant
  • Detrich Smith
  • Michelle Muhammad
Meeting Dates:
  • September 9, 2019 
  • November 21, 2019 
  • January 23, 2020 
  • March 19, 2020
NONDISCRIMINATION STATEMENT FOR ARKANSAS CHILD NUTRITION PROGRAMS

In accordance with Federal Civil Rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Civil Rights regulations and policies, the USDA, its agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity (including gender expression), sexual orientation, disability, age, marital status, family/parental status, income derived from a public assistance program, political beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior credible activity, in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA (not all bases apply to all programs). Remedies and complaint filing deadlines vary by program or incident.

Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g., Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.) should contact the responsible Agency or USDA's TARGET Center at (202) 720-2600 (voice and TTY) or contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339. Additionally, program information may be made available in languages other than English.

To file a program discrimination complaint, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, AD-3027, found online at How to File a Program Discrimination Complaint and at any USDA office or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992. Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by: (1) mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9410; (2) fax: (202) 690-7442; or (3) email: program.intake@usda.gov.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.

District Level School Health Coordinator:

Danny Ebbs, 501-234-2045  |  debbs@pcssd.org

School Level School Health Coordinators:

School Coordinator Phone Email
Baker Elementary Dr. Sonya Whitfield 501-288-3250 swhitfield@pcssd.org
Cato Elementary Shyrel Lee 501-833-1160 slee@pcssd.org
Chenal Elementary Yolanda Harris 501-821-7450 yharris@pcssd.org
College Station Elementary Mary Carpenter 501-490-5750 mcarpenter@pcssd.org
Crystal Hill Elementary Stacy Bottoms 501-791-8000 sbottoms@pcssd.org
Daisy Bates Elementary Lou Jackson 501-897-2171 ljackson@pcssd.org
Harris Elementary Dr. Yvette Dillingham 501-955-3550 ydillingham@pcssd.org
Joe T. Robinson Elementary Dr. Taniesa Moore 501-868-2420 tdmoore@pcssd.org
Joe T. Robinson High Mary Carolyn Bailey 501-868-2400 mbailey@pcssd.org
Joe T. Robinson Middle Yaa-Appiah McNulty 501-868-2410 ymcnulty@pcssd.org
Landmark Elementary Rachel Stevens 501-888-8790 rstevens@pcssd.org
Lawson Elementary Matt Mellor 501-821-7000 mmellor@pcssd.org
Maumelle High Jeff Senn 501-251-5350 jsenn@pcssd.org
Maumelle Middle Ryan Burgess 501-851-8990 rburgess@pcssd.org
Mills Middle Lisa Watson 501-490-5730 lwatson@pcssd.org
Oak Grove Elementary Pam McCurry 501-851-5370 pmccurry@pcssd.org
Oakbrooke Elementary Dr. Kim Truslow 501-8331190 ktruslow@pcssd.org
Pine Forest Elementary Yolanda Thomas 501-851-5380 ythomas@pcssd.org
Sherwood Elementary Josie Brazil 501-833-1150 jbrazil@pcssd.org
Sylvan Hills Elementary Jason Young 501-833-1140 jyoung@pcssd.org
Sylvan Hills High Tracy Allen 501-833-1100 tallen@pcssd.org
Sylvan Hills High North Yvone West 501-833-1170 ywest@pcssd.org
Sylvan Hills Middle Mike Hudgeons 501-833-1120 mhudgeons@pcssd.org
Wilbur D. Mills U.S. High Duane Clayton 501-490-5700 dclayton@pcssd.org
William Jefferson Clinton Elementary Felecia Hamilton 501-833-1200 fhamilton@pcssd.org